with love, self love.

I guess I didn’t grow up 

Believing I was not enough 

That I couldn’t do something 

Because of my label 

As a female. 

I guess I wasn’t brought up 

Thinking I was weaker 

Or more stupid 

Or less capable 

Or uglier 

Or insignificant 

In the eyes of anyone 

Until I came face to face with reality 

And saw the cruelty of strangers 

Who perhaps were never told 

They were important. 

I’m lucky I was raised 

To never think less of myself 

And when I look in the mirror 

I see an extraordinary ordinary 

Child-turned-woman 

Writing this small thing 

To let you know 

You are more than what they told you. 

Leave a Reply

