burning up. 

I am ill 

An honest kind of ill 

I make no effort at hiding 

But on the days I am good 

I appear almost normal

Slightly put together 

But by thin threads connecting bone to muscle. 

And when I lose it 

I am wrecked for days 

Beating fists against the walls 

Trying to silence all conversation 

streaming through my brain. 

When one thing goes awry 

On the days I can hardly hold all my pieces together 

That’s it. 

I fail. 

I derail. I quit. I am laying on something cold 

To keep my skin from burning up 

To stifle the twitches 

To find the breath 

Quickly escaping from my lungs. 

Leave a Reply

