restless sleep.

sleep
an unfortunate necessity
when it becomes hard
to do.
in every waking moment
i desire
to shut my eyes
letting blackness conceal reality
slowing down the heartbeat
settling into a trance.
but i have been forsaken
by the powers within me
taunting my dreams
both awake
and in bed.
the devious culprit
my obvious inspiration
a muse
i keep around
in order to create
but the very thing
that let’s everything flow
is also responsible
for dragging me down
always restless
always wandering
always searching
for some solace
in sleep.

Leave a Reply

