open the gates.

My darling, aren’t you tired?
Can I offer you a place to rest your head?
Let me fetch you water
and quench the unspeakable thirst
made worse by years of famine
and war
and heartbreak.
Let me show you that not all is hopeless
and not every person
lives with hate in their heart.
Let me tell you stories
about goodness
and how tragedy always brings us back together
How our country’s leaders
are not representative
of a nation as a whole
and why I am opening my arms to you, my dear.
Some may look with weary eyes
and a heaviness in their soul,
but I am here to show you
that we are definitive proof of love
existing in a time of extreme hatred.

Leave a Reply

