i am here.

i’ve stayed up longer than i’ve wanted to
pretending
it’s just a nightmare
and i’m only here until the sun comes up.
but you can’t go on faking
the same smile
day in, day out
because they catch on soon enough.
and instead of keeping every thought locked away
inside your head,
you’ve become the walking poster child
for what you shouldn’t become,
doing everything wrong
in the same
of rebellion,
or so they tell you.
i’ve only got these hands for writing
and the eyes of a child
who’s seen too much despair
yet no visible audience to hear my cries
when it begins to hurt too much.
i hate nighttime and the summer sun
because it reminds me i should be happy
but even on my best days,
it’s a miracle i’m out in the world
exposing myself to people
who would rather forget
people like me existed.

5 thoughts on “i am here.

  1. Nice write, I really like this. Very deep and heartfelt. Loved the walking poster child line.

    Not sure how you feel about puncuation in poetry as I know everyone is different when it comes to how to approach the full stop/comma dilema but you have some full stops followed by small case, just a heads up. 🙂 Also is ‘in the same of rebellion’ supposed to be name of rebellion? Hope this helps.

    If you don’t mind I’d like to include this on my guest post/reblog page on letters and notes.

    Really enjoying going through your blog, i’ll be sure to drop by again. 🙂

    Like

    1. Gretal, thank you for the feedback! I am always looking for it! And yes, same should be name. Haha!! Thank you for pointing it out! I will be sure to look into the comma dilemma as it is one a definitely struggle with and I know it can change the entire tone of a post. Please feel free to repost!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

