girl #1

I am speaking plainly.
I am telling you not what you want to hear
but what is necessary.
Whether you listen or not
is entirely up to you,
but even before this turned into what it is,
I told you long ago
it would be difficult to peg me to down.
I told you I would be difficult to love.
But like moths to a flame,
you flew into the light
and were burned.
I would be lying if I said “sorry”
because I’m not.
The truth is,
it was your own fault for not believing in my words the first time
and trying to turn me into
whatever I was never going to be.

Leave a Reply

