Slow down.

Tumblr Quotes About Nature

“Busy” is not always a synonym for “productive”. “Productive” doesn’t always mean doing everything at once. I know this to be true because for the last month, I have learned the hard way.

Let’s back track a bit. Yoga teacher training has taken up a majority of my weekends. I am grateful for this. This is not me complaining. This is me simply stating facts. On Tuesdays, I am literally on the move from 6 AM until 10:30 PM. In between work and training, I am fitting in yoga classes necessary to complete my 200 hour certification and also attending yoga lectures outside of my home studio. At work, I am building my spring travel itinerary while also keeping an eye on my applications coming in needing additional reviews. I am also celebrating my cousin’s upcoming wedding with all of the family festivities, prepping for the visit of one of my dearest friends, trying to figure out how the hell I’m going to train again for the half marathon in July, and somehow managing to keep my eyeballs open while staying present with friends and my man friend ( 😀 ).

This is what I chose. This is the path I’m willing to follow until the rough seas become calm again before another storm rages on. This is life. 

So before anyone challenges me and calls me out for pouting and whatnot, let me tell you this. In life, we have obstacles. In life, we face change and fear head on. In life, shit happens, like when my transmission on my SUV crapped out two weeks ago and I shelled out $2,000 for repairs and a rental car. In that moment I had two options:

1) Surrender myself completely to situation, keep moving forward, and do whatever needed to be done, or

2) Do nothing and cry about it on this forum and have a pity party.

I clearly chose Option 1 which is why y’all haven’t seen a “real” post from me in about 4 weeks. But alas, I am alive and well, writing poems, practicing inversions on my yoga mat, learning to balance time for the sake of sanity. After all the chaos and choosing to totally accept it, something happened in the universe and good energy was on my side. Some exciting things are currently in the works and I believe it’s because life tests our patience and rewards us when we choose proactive over reactive responses.

But because so much has happened in a short amount of time, one starts to think deeply about the priorities of life. I had to make some tough calls over the last two weeks, some I didn’t want to make but had to. I had to simply slow down in some areas in order to be wholly invested in what was important to me both emotionally and physically. I felt pressure start to build up, tension come to an almost breaking point and I needed to act fast in order to slow down. Funny, right?

We all come to the brink of totally caving in to the stress that life brings us. It is in these frustrating moments where we are given a sign to take a step back and reassess what’s happening around us. It is at this time where we must slow down, listen to our bodies, say “no” to plans, take time for ourselves, enjoy the things that truly make us happy.

I hope this weekend afforded you some downtime and that you took advantage of it. Today is finally a slower day for me and I am soaking up the fact that I have a moment to breathe. Wherever you are in your day, remember to inhale and exhale and to do it mindfully and slowly. Go for a walk on your lunch break. Read a chapter or two of the book you’ve been meaning to finish. Or simply lie on the floor and rest your eyes.

Slow down. You’re exactly where you’re meant to be. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Slow down.

Leave a Reply

