pull away. 

To be near you was electrifying, the way your body sent pulses to my heart just when I thought all feeling had been lost. I was like the face of a clock and you were the minute hand grazing my surface every 60 seconds even though time felt at a standstill. 

There were moments I couldn’t believe you existed. 

There were moments I thought I’d wake up from a dream. 

And there were moments I felt were too good to be true, so I did what I do best to spare us both the awkward goodbye, erased you from memory, 

Wiped clean the very mind that tucked away images of a what could have been. 

Leave a Reply

