soil.

It was a warm June day.
I was moving mountains outside in the yard.
Making space for a beautiful garden to grow.
Digging tulip bulbs deep into the soil,
digging deeper still into the soil of a love gone wrong.
I am clawing at roots I’ve imagined were always there.
I ignore the weeds and ivy
closing off the airways
of what is meant to grow.
No matter how I decorate the outside,
the inside is still barren and cold,
lacking proper space for love to unfold.
And I believe we’ve come to the end of this long dirt road.

2 thoughts on “soil.

Leave a Reply

