I want to write.

I want to write.
I want to write underneath a weeping willow
and know it weeps the way I weep when I hear
a love song or a beautiful verse or my father’s name.
I want to write with conviction
whether it’s nonsense to some
and pure truth to the rest,
all that matters is that words flow together and don’t stop.
I want to write like the Colorado River,
the way it steadies itself in one line
and gushes forth in another,
because that’s emotion.
I want to write like humanity
using all the colors and fonts and languages
that make us different
but bind us together because we all need air to breathe
and I want my writing to give life.

4 thoughts on “I want to write.

Leave a Reply

