it is fine if you don’t want to know me.

If you choose not to know me,
this is fine,
but please take this piece with you–
When you abandoned me,
I learned independence.
When you did not love me,
I learned self-love.
When you turned the other cheek,
I wished you well and learned the art of moving on.
And when you judged me,
I took it as a struggle with your own demons
and learned that
every human must ultimately
fight that struggle alone,
for I,
the one with the sensitive soul,
cannot fight everyone else’s battle
for them.

7 thoughts on “it is fine if you don’t want to know me.

Leave a Reply

