Yoga and Depression

Hi all!

I always take everything I read on the internet with a grain of salt. I believe in forming your own opinions and making educated assumptions through the power of your own curiosity. From time to time, I purposely look for articles dealing with mental illness and how the practice of yoga has come to aid those who suffer with BPD, depression, anxiety, OCD, etc.

Here is an article I found on Yoga Journal’s website and I particularly enjoyed it because it neither puts down the use of medications nor pushes a yogi agenda that screams, “YOGA IS EVERYTHING AND YOU SHOULD GET INTO CROW POSITION IMMEDIATELY BEFORE YOU FREAK OUT!”

I practice yoga. I plan on completing my teacher training certification some time in March 2015 and have found yoga is a wonderful way to decompress from stressful days. What do you do to help ease your mind? Are you an avid yogi practitioner or curious about sun salutations? Do you like to run? Have you made dietary changes to help shift moods into the more positive spectrum?

Be well and stay awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

